International Opera Studio at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden

  • Portrait

    The International Opera Studio of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden has been in existence since November 2007. Under the direction of conductor, pianist and vocal coach Boris Anifantakis, it offers young, talented singers the possibility to prepare themselves for an artistically demanding career in opera and musical theatre. The overall artistic direction of the International Opera Studio is provided by Daniel Barenboim, whose primary concern is to provide continuing education and consistent support within the framework of the Staatsoper for the artistic development of promising young singers.

    The International Opera Studio, which is financially supported by the Liz Mohn Kultur- und Musikstiftung, is centred on two fundamental goals. The first is to provide those who receive a stipendium with the opportunity of making appearances on the stage of the Staatsoper in small and medium-sized roles, thereby being directly incorporated in the working processes of the opera in both new productions and in the current repertoire, which is worked out with the assistance of experienced répétiteurs and assistant directors in terms of music and staging. The second goal of the International Opera Studio is to offer weekly lessons from the trained personnel engaged by the opera studio to stipendiaries, lessons encompassing the studies of specific roles, ensemble singing, acting lessons, training in movement and improvisation as well as vocal and language coaching. This intensive education is complemented with masterclasses and workshops largely conceived and carried out by the members and guest performers of the Staatsoper.

    Individual advising sessions are regularly held in order to ensure that both studio personnel and the singers themselves can get a good picture of their current level of proficiency, their development and their future career possibilities. These sessions not only give way to a two-way exchange of ideas and experiences but also pave the way for an understanding of the respective steps needed in order to shape the singer’s studies in a way conducive to the goals set by the International Opera Studio.

    In addition to their monthly Liz Mohn Kultur- und Musikstiftung stipendium, singers receive a monthly honorarium from the Staatsoper for their participation in productions.

  • Season 2013/2014 to 2014/2015 members

  • 2015/2016 Audition

    Applications for the International Opera Studio

    For the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 seasons there are openings for 6 singers.

    Auditions will be held in January 2015. The age limit is 30; interested singers can submit complete application materials (including a CV with birthdate, a list of repertoire performed/studied, a headshot and a CD with three live aria performances) between 1 September and 31 October 2014.

    Only applications submitted by postal mail will be considered. There will be three rounds of auditions, and invitations to audition will be made in writing. Application denials will not be sent out to unsuccessful applicants.


    STAATSOPER UNTER DEN LINDEN
    Opernstudio
    Boris Anifantakis
    Staatsoper im Schiller Theater
    Bismarckstr. 110
    D-10625 Berlin
    Germany

    E-Mail: b.anifantakis@staatsoper-berlin.de
    TEL: +49 30 20354635
    FAX: +49 30 20354668

  • Contact

    STAATSOPER UNTER DEN LINDEN
    Opernstudio
    Boris Anifantakis
    Staatsoper im Schiller Theater
    Bismarckstr. 110
    D-10625 Berlin
    Germany

    E-Mail: b.anifantakis@staatsoper-berlin.de
    TEL: +49 30 20354635
    FAX: +49 30 20354668

Internationales Opernstudio der Staatsoper Unter den Linden

  • Portrait

    Das Internationale Opernstudio der Staatsoper Unter den Linden besteht seit November 2007. Unter der Leitung des Dirigenten, Pianisten und Sängercoach Boris Anifantakis bietet es jungen, talentierten Sängerinnen und Sängern die Möglichkeit, sich auf eine künstlerisch anspruchsvolle Karriere im Bereich des Musiktheaters vorzubereiten. Die künstlerische Gesamtleitung des Opernstudios liegt in den Händen von Daniel Barenboim, dem es ein besonderes Anliegen ist, vielversprechende Nachwuchssänger direkt am Haus fortzubilden und ihre künstlerische Entwicklung konsequent zu fördern.

    Die Arbeit des Opernstudios, das durch die Liz Mohn Kultur- und Musikstiftung finanziell unterstützt wird, verfolgt zwei grundlegende Ziele: Zum einen erhalten die Stipendiaten Gelegenheit, auf der Bühne der Staatsoper in kleinen und mittleren Partien aufzutreten, womit sie unmittelbar in den Opernbetrieb eingebunden sind. Das betrifft sowohl die Mitwirkung an Neuproduktionen wie den Einsatz im laufenden Repertoire, das musikalisch und szenisch mit Hilfe erfahrener Korrepetitoren und Regieassistenten erarbeitet wird. Zum anderen wird ein von eigens für das Opernstudio engagierten Fachkräften geleiteter wöchentlicher Unterricht angeboten, der u. a. aus Partienstudium, Ensemblesingen, Szenischem Unterricht, Bewegungs- und Improvisationstraining sowie Stimm- und Fremdsprachen-Coaching besteht. Ergänzt wird diese intensive Ausbildung durch Meisterkurse und Workshops, die vor allem von Mitgliedern und Gästen der Staatsoper konzipiert und gehalten werden.

    Damit sich sowohl die Studioleitung als auch die Sängerinnen und Sänger selbst ein Bild über Leistungsstand, Entwicklung und Perspektiven machen können, werden regelmäßig Einzelgespräche geführt. In diesen Zusammenkünften findet nicht nur ein beiderseitiger Erfahrungsaustausch statt, es erfolgt auch eine Verständigung über die jeweils folgenden Schritte, um die Ausbildung im Sinne der Zielsetzungen des Opernstudios möglichst produktiv zu gestalten.

    Zusätzlich zu ihrem monatlichen Stipendium von der Liz Mohn Kultur- und Musikstiftung erhalten die Sängerinnen und Sänger von der Staatsoper ein monatliches Pauschalhonorar für ihre Mitwirkung an den Produktionen.

  • Mitglieder der Spielzeiten 2013/2014 - 2014/2015

  • Vorsingen für 2015/2016

    BEWERBUNG ZUR TEILNAHME AM OPERNSTUDIO

    Für die Spielzeiten 2015/2016 und 2016/2017 werden 6 Sängerinnen und Sänger gesucht.

    Die Vorsingen werden im Januar 2015 stattfinden. Die Altersgrenze liegt bei 30 Jahren. Interessierte Bewerberinnen und Bewerber können ihre kompletten Bewerbungsunterlagen (Lebenslauf mit Geburtsdatum, Liste des gesungenen/studierten Repertoires, ein Foto sowie eine CD mit drei live aufgenommen Arien) vom 01.09. - 31.10.2014 einreichen.

    Für das Auswahlverfahren zugelassen werden ausschließlich Bewerbungen, die per Post versandt wurden. Die Einladungen zum Vorsingen erfolgen schriftlich. Bei Nichtberücksichtigung werden keine Absagen verschickt.


    STAATSOPER IM SCHILLER THEATER
    Internationales Opernstudio
    Boris Anifantakis
    Bismarckstr. 110
    D-10625 Berlin

    E-Mail: b.anifantakis@staatsoper-berlin.de
    TEL: +49 30 20354635
    FAX: +49 30 20354668

  • Kontakt

    STAATSOPER UNTER DEN LINDEN
    Opernstudio
    Boris Anifantakis
    Staatsoper im Schiller Theater
    Bismarckstr. 110
    D-10625 Berlin

    E-Mail: b.anifantakis@staatsoper-berlin.de
    TEL: +49 30 20354635
    FAX: +49 30 20354668