07. February 2015


Opera by Giuseppe Verdi

    Sung in Italian with German surtitles
    2:50 h | including 1 interval
    • Synopsis

      ACT I
      Macbeth and Banquo return from a victorious battle. The witches predict that Macbeth shall become King of Scotland. Lady Macbeth expects her husband impatiently. She stirs up his ambition. Macbeth murders King Duncan. - General horror at the murder. Macbeth seizes power. Duncan's son Malcolm manages to escape.

      ACT II
      The situation calls for more murders. Banquo, Macbeth's former brother in arms, is the first victim. Murder claims its price: at a banquet in honor of the royal couple, Banquo's ghost haunts Macbeth. Lady Macbeth attempts to save what she can. They have lost their power.

      ACT III
      Macbeth at the witches'. What shall his fate be? Their forebodings comfort him: none born from woman can harm him, he shall rule until the wood of Birnam rises. Past and future kings appear before Macbeth, but he cannot find himself amongst them. Lady Macbeth finds her husband. Together they swear death and destruction to their enemies.

      ACT IV
      The people have fled the murderous power. In its helplessness, it has sought refuge in no man's land. Malcolm and Macduff lead it to war against Macbeth. Lady Macbeth dies tortured by the memory of her crimes. The army attacks Macbeth disguised with branches of Birnam wood. Macduff, torn from his mother's body, kills him. In dying, Macbeth curses life. The people pay their new leaders homage.