Konzert im Pierre Boulez Saal I


Leos Janáček  

IDYLLE for Strings

Peter Eötvös  

REPLICA for Viola and Orchestra

Maurice Ravel  



  • conductor
    • James Gaffigan


Start of single ticket sales on 25. September 2021 12 noon. Start of advance ticket sales for pre-sale customers seven days before.

Two operas by Leoš Janáček and Peter Eötvös are premiering this season; to complement them, music by both composers will be featured in concert as well. Janáček’s »Idylle« for string orchestra is a work by a man in his mid-twenties inspired by the folklore of his native Moravia. Eötvö’s »Replica« for solo viola and orchestra was composed in 1998. They are rounded off by Ravel’s fairy tale suite »Ma mère l’Oye«, a cycle of masterful instrumental works for piano in which the music leads the narrative.