Elektra

Tragedy in one act (1909)

Music by

Richard Strauss

Text by

Hugo von Hofmannsthal

Like a call issuing from a mythical distant past, Richard Strauss’ »Elektra« summons the magic of eerie gloom and archaic brutality. An almost inevitable »tremendous increase to the very end« (Strauss) in musical tension plunges the listener deep into Electra’s world, which is shaped by grief, pain, and thirst for vengeance. Humiliated and tormented by her family, Electra, the daughter of the king of Mycenae, devotes her life to a single obsessive goal: day in and day out, she invokes the memory of her father, who was murdered treacherously by her mother Clytemnestra and Clytemnestra’s lover Aegisthus, and she waits for the return of her brother Orestes, who is supposed to avenge his father’s murder. The deed must be paid back in kind. Vacillating between hatred, hysteria, weakness, hubris, deep sadness, obsession and sarcasm, Electra has lost every connection to the people around her. She is unkempt and has rejected her femininity.

In his monumental one-act opera for dramatic voices and a giant orchestra, inspired by the powerful eloquence of his perfectly matched librettist Hugo von Hofmannsthal, the fin-de-siècle composer created a musical and psychological portrait that is extremely stirring in its expressiveness and overpowering in its tonal force. In Strauss’s own words, it brought him to the utmost limits of »psychological polyphony«


.

Dates

Playing Time: approx. 1:45 h, without interval
In German language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture, 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German)
Speaker: Jana Beckmann

Cast

Playing Time: approx. 1:45 h, without interval
In German language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture, 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German)
Speaker: Jana Beckmann

Cast

Playing Time: approx. 1:45 h, without interval
In German language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture, 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German)
Speaker: Jana Beckmann

Cast

For the last time this season
Playing Time: approx. 1:45 h, without interval
In German language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture, 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German)
Speaker: Jana Beckmann

Cast

Medien

plot

In the courtyard of the Palace of Mycenae, the servants are wondering whether Elektra will be grieving over her father, as it is her daily mourning ritual in memory of her father. Daughter of the King Agamemnon and Clytemnestra, Elektra comes in and locks herself up in her solitude straight away. The servants all criticise and mock her, except for one, who takes her defence.
By herself, Elektra remembers how Agamemnon was assassinated upon his return from Troy, beaten up with an axe by Clytemnestra and her lover Aegistheus. Devastated by her grief, Elektra is obsessed with the revenge she intends to take together with her sister, Chrysothemis, and her brother, Orestes. The latter grew up faraway from the palace ever since he was a child and Elektra is keenly waiting for him day after day.
Chrysothemis interrupts Elektra who is caught up in her thoughts and warns her that Clytemnestra and Aegistheus have decided to lock her up in a tower. Chrysosthemis asks her sister to renounce vengeance and let life take over again. Elektra rejects the idea with disdain.
Clytemnestra arrives with her suite. She is preparing sacrifices hoping to pacify the Gods as she suffers nightmares. She wants to talk to Elektra and when her daughter’s words are more amenable than usual, she sends off her followers to stay with her. The mother asks her daughter what remedy could restore her sleep and Elektra reveals that a sacrifice may indeed free her from her nightmares. But when the Queen full of hope asks whom needs immolating, Elektra replies that it is Clytemnestra herself who needs to die. Elektra goes on to describe with frenzied elation how her mother will succumb under Orestes’ blows. Then the court is trown into a panic: two strangers have arrived and ask to be seen; a few words are whispered to the Queen, who immediately leaves without saying a single word to Elektra.
Chrysosthemis is the one who comes to bear the terrible news: Orestes had died. At first she remains deaf to what has been said, and then, loosing all hope, she concludes that only herself and his sister need to act without further delay. But Chrysosthemis refuses do commit such a deed and flees. Elektra curses her, concluding that she will need to act by herself.
One of the strangers who claims to be a friend of Orestes’ and has come to bear the news of his death has now been staying at the court for a few days. Elektra besieges him with questions. When she reveals her name, he shakes, in shock. She only recognizes him when the servants of the palace throw themselves at his feet. It is Orestes who really stands in front of her, Orestes, who tricked everybody into believing he was dead in order to sneak into the palace. Elektra is both elated and in despair; she feels boundless fondness for her brother and a fathomless sadness because of the recluse life she has chosen for herself. They are interrupted by Orestes’ tutor: the hour of vengeance has come and what Orestes has come back for now needs doing. Orestes enters the palace. Elektra listens out for the slightest noise. Clytemnestra’s scream is heard: “Hit one more time”, Elektra cries out. The Queen then draws her last gasp.
There is a moment of panic when the servants hear cries. But they flee when they are told that Aegistheus is returning from the fields. As the sun is setting, he meets with Elektra, who suddenly in a joyful mood, offers to give him light and walk him back home. Soon enough it is his turn to scream for help. He too succumbs to vengeful hands.
Chrysothemis comes out of the palace and tells her sister about their brother’s return and the double murder of Clytemnestra and Aegistheus. Elektra, hovering between ecstasy and madness, maintains that only silence and dance can celebrate their liberation. Beset by extreme frenzy, she dances until she drops: she will never be the one to have executed the act of revenge. As for Orestes, he leaves the palace, alone and in silence.

Patrice Chéreau | Vincent Huguet

Elektra

Tragödie in einem Aufzug (1909)

Musik von

Richard Strauss

Text von

Hugo von Hofmannsthal

Wie ein Rufen aus mythischer Vorzeit beschwört Richard Strauss’ »Elektra« den Zauber des Schaurig-Düsteren, des Archaisch-Grausamen herauf. Eine geradezu unabdingbare »gewaltige musikalische Steigerung bis zum Schluß« (Strauss) lässt den Zuhörer tief in die von Trauer, Schmerz und Rachedurst geprägte Welt Elektras eintauchen: Obsessiv verfolgt die von ihrer Familie gedemütigte und gepeinigte mykenische Königstochter Elektra nur ein einziges Lebensziel: Sie beschwört Tag für Tag die Erinnerung an ihren Vater herauf, der einst von ihrer Mutter Klytämnestra gemeinsam mit deren Liebhaber Aegisth heimtückisch ermordet wurde und wartet auf die Rückkehr ihres Bruders Orest, der Vergeltung für die Bluttat üben soll. Gleiches muss mit Gleichem vergolten werden. Schwankend zwischen Hass, Hysterie, Schwäche, Überheblichkeit, abgrundtiefer Traurigkeit, Besessenheit und Sarkasmus hat Elektra jeden Bezug zu den Menschen um sich herum verloren, ist verwahrlost und hat ihre Weiblichkeit verneint.

Inspiriert von der Sprachgewalt seines kongenialen Librettisten Hugo von Hofmannsthal schuf der Fin-de-Siècle-Komponist mit seinem monumentalen Operneinakter für dramatische Stimmen und Riesenorchester ein musikalisch-psychologisches Portrait von äußerst aufwühlender Expressivität und überwältigender Klangwucht, dass ihn laut eigener Aussage bis an die äußersten Grenzen »psychischer Polyphonie« führte.


 

Termine

Spieldauer: ca. 1:45 h, keine Pause
In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Vorwort 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Referentin: Jana Beckmann

Besetzung

Spieldauer: ca. 1:45 h, keine Pause
In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Vorwort 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Referentin: Jana Beckmann

Besetzung

Spieldauer: ca. 1:45 h, keine Pause
In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Vorwort 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Referentin: Jana Beckmann

Besetzung

Zum letzten Mal in dieser Spielzeit
Spieldauer: ca. 1:45 h, keine Pause
In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Vorwort 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Referentin: Jana Beckmann

Besetzung

Medien

Handlung

Auf dem Hof des Palastes von Mykene. Die Mägde fragen sich, ob Elektra, wie jeden Tag zu dieser Stunde, kommen wird, um den Tod ihres Vaters zu beklagen. Da erscheint die Tochter des Königs Agamemnon und der Klytämnestra und zieht sich sogleich in ihre Einsamkeit zurück. Die Mägde schmähen und verspotten sie. Nur eine ergreift Partei für Elektra.
Elektra bleibt allein zurück. Sie ruft sich die Ermordung Agamemnons ins Gedächtnis, der nach seiner Rückkehr aus Troja von Klytämnestra und ihrem Liebhaber Aegisth mit einem Beil erschlagen wurde. Von Trauer verzehrt, hat Elektra nichts als Rache im Sinn, die sie mit Hilfe ihrer Schwester Chrysothemis und ihres Bruders Orest üben wird. Täglich wartet Elektra auf die Rückkehr des Bruders, der einst als Kind von Mykene fortgeschickt wurde.
Chrysothemis reißt Elektra aus ihren Gedanken, um sie zu warnen: Klytämnestra und Aegisth wollen sie in einen Turm sperren. Chrysothemis bittet ihre Schwester, auf Vergeltung zu verzichten, damit das Leben endlich wieder seinen Lauf nehmen kann. Verächtlich stößt Elektra sie weg.
Klytämnestra erscheint mit ihrem Gefolge. Weil sie von Albträumen geplagt wird, will sie den Göttern Opfer darbringen, um diese versöhnlich zu stimmen. Sie sucht das Gespräch mit Elektra, und als diese ihr liebenswürdiger als sonst begegnet, schickt sie ihre Begleiterinnen fort, um mit ihr allein zu sein. Die Mutter fragt ihre Tochter, ob sie nicht ein Mittel wisse, das ihr den Schlaf wiederbringt. Elektra verrät ihr, sie könne tatsächlich durch ein Opfer erlöst werden. Doch als die Königin sich hoffnungsvoll erkundigt, wer geopfert werden soll, entgegnet ihr Elektra, sie selbst sei es, Klytämnestra, die sterben müsse. Exaltiert beschreibt Elektra, wie die Mutter durch Orests Hand sterben wird. Im Hof herrscht plötzlich Aufregung: Zwei Fremde sind im Palast eingetroffen und bitten darum, empfangen zu werden. Man flüstert der Königin etwas ins Ohr, ohne ein weiteres Wort eilt sie davon.
Chrysothemis kommt zurück und überbringt die schreckliche Nachricht: Orest ist tot. Elektra will es zuerst nicht glauben. Verzweifelt kommt sie schließlich zu dem Schluss, sie beide müssen nun unverzüglich handeln. Doch Chrysothemis weigert sich, eine solche Tat zu begehen und läuft davon. Elektra verflucht sie. Dann wird sie es eben alleine vollbringen.
Einer der beiden Fremden, der sich als Freund von Orest ausgibt und die Nachricht von seinem Tod überbrachte, ist schon eine Weile anwesend. Elektra bedrängt ihn mit Fragen. Als sie ihm ihren Namen verrät, erschaudert er. Sie erkennt ihn erst, als sich die Diener ihm zu Füßen werfen: Es ist tatsächlich Orest, der vor ihr steht, Orest, der mit List seinen eigenen Tod verkünden ließ, um in den Palast zu gelangen. Elektra frohlockt und leidet, sie taumelt zwischen unendlicher Zärtlichkeit für ihren Bruder und abgrundtiefer Traurigkeit ob ihres zurückgezogenen Lebens, das sie sich selbst auferlegt hat. Die beiden werden von Orests Pfleger unterbrochen: Die Stunde der Rache ist gekommen, nun muss vollbracht werden, wofür Orest zurückgekommen ist. Orest eilt in den Palast. Fieberhaft harrt Elektra jedem noch so kleinen Geräusch entgegen. Da hört man Klytämnestra aufschreien. »Triff noch einmal«, ruft Elektra. Die Königin stößt einen letzten Todesschrei aus.
Dann ein Moment der Panik: Die Mägde haben Schreie vernommen, doch sie laufen davon, als sie hören, dass Aegisth von den Feldern zurückkommt. Er wird von Elektra empfangen, die ihm, auf einmal frohen Mutes, anbietet, ihm in der hereinbrechenden Nacht den Weg zu leuchten. Bald hört man ihn genauso schreien und um Hilfe rufen. Auch er erliegt der Hand des Rächers.
Chrysothemis kommt, sie teilt der Schwester die Rückkehr ihres Bruders und den zweifachen Mord an Klytämnestra und Aegisth mit. Elektra ist wie berauscht und dem Wahnsinn nahe, für sie gibt es nur noch eins: schweigen und tanzen, um ihre Befreiung zu feiern. Sie tanzt mit ungezügelter Exaltiertheit, bis sie schließlich zusammenbricht: Nicht sie sollte die Rache vollzogen haben. Orest bricht wieder auf, unbemerkt und einsam.

Patrice Chéreau | Vincent Huguet

Pressestimmen