Medea

Médée
Opéra in three acts (1797)

Music by

Luigi Cherubini

Text by

François-Benoît Hoffman

She is one of the most impressive and strangely fascinating figures in Greek mythology. Medea, gifted with magical powers, who has moved from the fringes of the world to the centre of civilization, turns into an avenging angel. She is driven by the anger and betrayal which she suffered at the hands of Jason, whom she helped win the most precious treasure of the Golden Fleece, and subsequently married, but who then thanklessly deserts her. In Corinth, where Jason intends to marry the daughter of Creon, tragic events unfold. The stricken Medea inflicts her misery on the others, not even recoiling from infanticide.

In the 5th century BC, the Attic poet Euripides put this ancient myth into words and created a drama for the stage. Luigi Cherubini’s opera, premiered in Paris in 1797, draws on this play and opens up new perspectives in this classical material by means of a dramatically accentuated, enormously powerful musical language. Rarely has the figure of the Medea received such succinctness and urgency as here.

Dates

Medien

plot

Prior story
Jason set off with the Argonauts (a group of comrades named after his ship) to purloin the Golden Fleece in Colchis on the Black Sea. His step-uncle Pelias promised to vacate the throne of Iolcos – which was rightfully Jason’s – in his favor only in the (unlikely) chance of Jason’s success. Once in Colchis, Jason and the king’s daughter Médée fell in love with one another. With Médée’s help, Jason was able to pilfer the fleece from her father’s possessions. Their joint flight would have failed if Médée had not killed her younger brother and dismembered the corpse, forcing their pursuers to collect the body parts, thus allowing them to flee to safety. Once back in Greece, Jason learned that Pelias has driven his father to his death by telling him the lie that the Argo had sunk. To punish Pelias, Médée then tricked his daughter into killing and boiling him, claiming that it would rejuvenate him. Pursued by Acastus, the son of Pelias, the homeless couple fled across Greece, now with two children in tow. During their flight, the parents were separated: the father reached Corinth with his two sons, where he was offered the possibility of marrying into the royal house.

Act One
Dircé, the daughter of the King of Corinth, fears that Jason might leave her one day, just as he abandoned his first wife Médée. Dircé’s attendants try to cheer up the young bride. Her father Créon insures Jason that he will protect his sons and by no means to surrender them to Acastus who – after Médée’s disappearance—wants to avenge Pelias’s death against them. Jason has his Argonauts march and presents the bridal gift to Créon: the Golden Fleece. Dircé interrupts the ceremony, afraid of the injustice that was done to Médée and her possible revenge. To calm her, Jason promises eternal fidelity. While Créon beseeches the gods to bless the couple, a stranger appears: it is Médée. Calmly and decisively, she declares that she will prevent Jason’s adulterous marriage. But it is only when Créon curses her and threatens to hand him over to Acastus that Médée warns against provoking her. She promises Créon hellish penalties, but first withdraws.

Médée reminds Jason that he owes his victories to the same crimes and sacrifices that she is now ostracized for. She pleads with him not to reject “the mother of his sons,” but to no avail. When he refuses all responsibility for her and her deeds, she calls on him to choose between her love or her animosity. The argument escalates: both threaten to kill one another. In brief moments to take a breath, she is gripped by the memory of all the blood that was spilt over the Golden Fleece – and still will be, as only Médée suspects.

Act Two
Médée is furious: she has been forbidden all contact with her sons. Créon appears with his soldiers: in response to Jason’s request, he offers her the chance to flee unharmed and promises to protect her children. Médée humbly begs to be tolerated in Corinth, but is rejected. When she calls on Zeus to witness the injustice being done to her, Médée’s confidant Néris warns her to be cautious. Médée now declares that she will accept the King’s decree. She only asks one day of delay. She allays Créon’s mistrust by insisting on her utter helplessness. After Créon’s departure, Néris swears to be faithful to her Médée to the point of death, while Médée is lost in dark brooding. She now comes up with the plan that horrifies even her: to take revenge Jason’s betrayal not only by killing his wife, but his sons as well.

Jason appears to offer in his “generosity” – as he calls it – support in exile. Médée declares that her resistance is now broken. Jason rejects her request that the children accompany her into exile because of his great love of both. Jason responds to Médée’s lament by allowing her to have contact with her children once more before her departure. Médée has in secret decided to have him pay for her “false tears.”

Jason rushes off to a ceremony in which he is to beseech the gods to favor his wedding for Dircé. Médée commands Néris to accompany her two sons to Dircé. They are to offer

Médée’s former bridal dress and her bridal crown as gifts, poisoned gifts that are to kill the new bride. The wedding procession arrives at the temple. The festive songs are commented upon bitterly and cynically by Médée. She also calls to the god of marriage Hymen, but now to take vengeance for her betrayed marriage.


Act Three
Néris has set off with the children and the deadly gifts. A storm erupts. Médée has armed herself with a dagger and admonishes herself to be relentless. But when her children return, she is unable to carry out her intended murder. The dagger falls from her hands. Her rage against Jason and the love of her children are tearing her apart. She orders Néris to bring her children to safety from her. But just as Néris departs with them, Médée regrets her failure to carry out this ultimate punishment of Jason. Then cries of horror and Jason’s mourning of the torturous death of Dircé, which has also killed Créon as well, come to her ear.

Médée picks up the dagger and follows Néris and her children. Jason and the people want to punish Médée. Médée tells Jason that her children have been murdered and, declaring that she will wait for him in hell, leaps into the flames now raging in Créon’s palace.

Medea

Médée
Opéra in drei Akten (1797)

Musik von

Luigi Cherubini

Text von

François-Benoît Hoffman

Sie ist eine der eindrücklichsten und seltsam faszinierenden Gestalten der griechischen Mythologie. Die mit Zauberkräften begabte Medea, vom Rande der Welt in die Mitte der Zivilisation gelangt, wandelt sich zum Racheengel. Getrieben wird sie von Wut und Enttäuschung, die sie von Jason erfahren musste, dem sie den wertvollsten Schatz, das Goldene Vlies, zu gewinnen half, dem sie sich ehelich verband, und der sie undankbar verließ. In Korinth, wo Jason mit der Tochter des Königs Kreon Hochzeit feiern will, entwickelt sich ein tragisches Geschehen – die elende Medea bringt Elend den Anderen und schreckt dabei nicht einmal vor Kindesmord zurück.

Der attische Dichter Euripides hat im 5. vorchristlichen Jahrhundert diesen uralten Mythos in einem Drama in Worte gefasst und auf die Bühne gebracht. Luigi Cherubinis Oper, 1797 in Paris uraufgeführt, greift darauf zurück und eröffnet mit den Mitteln einer dramatisch akzentuierten, theatralisch enorm wirksamen Musiksprache neue Horizonte dieses klassischen Stoffes. Selten nur hat die Figur der Medea eine solche Prägnanz und Eindringlichkeit erhalten wie hier.

Termine

Medien

Handlung

Vorgeschichte
Jason war mit den Argonauten ‒ seinen nach der Argo, ihrem Schiff, benannten Kameraden ‒ ausgezogen, um in Kolchis am Schwarzen Meer das Goldene Vlies zu erbeuten. Nur im (unwahrscheinlichsten) Falle von Jasons Erfolg hatte sein Stiefonkel Pelias sich bereit erklärt, den ihm rechtmäßig zustehenden Thron von Jolkos freizugeben. In Kolchis verliebten sich Jason und die Königstochter Médée ineinander. Mit Médées Hilfe gelang es Jason, das Vlies aus dem Besitz ihres Vaters zu entwenden. Die anschließende gemeinsame Flucht der beiden wäre gescheitert, hätte Médée ihren jüngeren Bruder nicht ermordet und seine Leiche zerstückt, um ihre Verfolger zu zwingen, die ins Meer verstreuten Leichenteile einzusammeln, und ihnen so entkommen zu können. Zurück in Griechenland erfährt Jason, dass Pelias seinen Vater mit der Lüge, die Argo wäre untergegangen, in den Tod getrieben hat. Um Pelias zu strafen, verführt Médée seine Töchter dazu, ihn zu töten und zu kochen, in der betrogenen Hoffnung, ihn dadurch magisch zu verjüngen. Verfolgt von Akastos, dem Sohn des Pelias, flieht das heimatlose Paar, das mittlerweile zwei Söhne hat, durch Griechenland. Auf der Flucht werden die Eltern getrennt: Der Vater erreicht mit den beiden Söhnen Korinth, wo sich ihm die Aussicht bietet, in das Königshaus einzuheiraten.


Erster Akt
Dircé, die Königstochter von Korinth, befürchtet, dass Jason, ihr künftiger Gatte, sie eines Tages genauso verlassen könnte wie seine erste Ehefrau Médée. Dircés Frauen versuchen, die junge Braut aufzuheitern. Ihr Vater Créon versichert Jason, seine Söhne zu schützen und diese keineswegs an Akastos auszuliefern, der ‒ nach dem Verschwinden Médées ‒ den Mord an Pelias an ihnen rächen will. Jason lässt seine Argonauten aufmarschieren und präsentiert das von Créon ausbedungene Brautgeschenk: das Goldene Vlies. Dircé unterbricht die Zeremonie aus Angst vor dem Unrecht, das Médée angetan wird, und ihrer möglichen Rache. Um sie zu beruhigen, gelobt Jason ewige Treue. Während Créon den Segen der Götter auf das Paar herabbeschwört, erscheint eine Fremde: Es ist Médée. Ruhig und entschlossen erklärt sie, die ehebrecherische Heirat Jasons zu verhindern. Erst als Créon sie mit Schmähungen überhäuft und droht, sie an Akastos auszuliefern, warnt Médée davor, sie zu provozieren. Créon prophezeit ihr Höllenstrafen, zieht sich aber zunächst zurück.

Médée erinnert Jason daran, dass er seine Siege denselben Verbrechen und Opfern verdanke, für die sie nun geächtet werden soll. Vergebens beschwört sie ihn, die »Mutter seiner Söhne« nicht zu verstoßen. Als er jede Mitverantwortung für sie und ihre Taten abstreitet, fordert sie ihn auf, zu wählen zwischen ihrer Liebe oder ihrer Feindschaft. Der Streit eskaliert. Beide steigern sich in wechselseitige Morddrohungen hinein. In kurzen Atempausen ergreift sie die Erinnerung an all das Blut, das um des Goldenen Vlieses willen verschüttet wurde ‒ und noch werden wird, wie nur Médée es ahnt.


Zweiter Akt
Médée ist außer sich: Ihr wurde der Kontakt zu ihren Söhnen verboten. Créon erscheint mit seinen Soldaten: Der Fürbitte Jasons entsprechend biete er ihr die Flucht und ihren Kindern seinen Schutz an. Médée fleht demütig um Duldung in Korinth, wird aber abgewiesen. Als sie Zeus zum Zeugen des Unrechts anruft, das ihr geschieht, mahnt Médées Vertraute Néris zur Vorsicht. Médée erklärt nun, den Befehl des Königs zu akzeptieren. Nur noch einen einzigen Tag erbäte sie Aufschub. Das Misstrauen Créons zerstreut sie mit dem Hinweis auf ihre völlige Hilf- und Rechtlosigkeit. Nach Créons Abgang schwört Néris ihrer Herrin Treue bis in den Tod, während Médée in finsteres Brüten versinkt. Dabei verfällt sie auf den sie selbst erschreckenden Gedanken, den Verrat Jasons nicht nur an seiner Braut, sondern auch an seinen Söhnen zu strafen.

Jason erscheint, um ihr in seiner Großmut ‒ wie er es nennt ‒ Unterstützung im Exil zuzusagen. Médée erklärt, ihr Widerstand sei gebrochen. Ihre Bitte, die Kinder mögen sie ins Exil begleiten, lehnt Jason aus seiner großen Liebe zu den beiden ab. Médées Klage tröstet Jason, in dem er ihr bewilligt, bis zu ihrer Abreise mit den Kindern Kontakt haben zu dürfen. Médée ist insgeheim entschlossen, ihn für ihre »falschen Tränen« teuer bezahlen zu lassen.

Jason eilt zu einer Zeremonie, die den Segen der Götter für seine Ehe mit Dircé erflehen soll. Médée beauftragt Néris, ihre beiden Söhne zu Dircé zu begleiten. Diese sollen ihr Médées ehemaliges Brautkleid und ihre Brautkrone als Geschenke überreichen ‒ vergiftete Gaben, die der neuen Braut den Tod bringen sollen. Die Hochzeitsprozession betritt den Tempel. Die festlichen Gesänge werden von Médée bitter und zynisch kommentiert. Sie ruft ebenfalls den Hochzeitsgott Hymen an, aber als Rächer ihrer verratenen Ehe.


Dritter Akt
Néris hat sich mit den Kindern und den todbringenden Geschenken auf den Weg zu Dircé gemacht. Ein Gewitter entlädt sich. Médée hat sich mit einem Dolch bewaffnet und ermahnt sich zur Härte. Doch als ihre Kinder zurückkehren, vermag sie es nicht, ihre Mordabsicht auszuführen: Der Dolch entfällt ihren Händen. Der Zorn auf Jason und die Liebe zu den Kindern zerreißen sie. Sie befiehlt Néris, ihre Kinder vor ihr in Sicherheit zu bringen. Kaum hat sich Néris mit ihnen zurückgezogen, bereut Médée ihren Verzicht auf diese äußerste Bestrafung Jasons schon wieder. Da dringen Entsetzensschreie und Jasons Klage über den qualvollen Tod Dircés, die Créon mit in den Tod gerissen hat, an ihr Ohr. Médée hebt den ihr entglittenen Dolch wieder auf und folgt Néris und ihren Kindern. Jason und das Volk wollen Médée strafen. Diese verkündet Jason den Mord an den Kindern und stürzt sich mit den Worten, in der Hölle werde sie ihn erwarten, in die Flammen, die Créons Palast in Brand gesetzt haben.

Pressestimmen