Salome

Drama in one Act by Richard Strauss Text by Richard Strauss according to the drama »Salomé« by Oscar Wilde in the translation by Hedwig Lachmann

Raised in an environment lacking in moderation and inhibition, the eccentric Princess Salome is fascinated by the otherness of the ethical and ascetic Prophet Jochanaan, whom her mother Herodias and her lecherous stepfather Herod keep imprisoned. When Jochanaan brusquely rejects Salome’s lustful approaches, she becomes downright obsessed with him and uses her stepfather’s lustfulness to enforce her will: Since Herod promises to fulfil her every wish for the erotic »Dance of The Seven Veils«, she demands Jochanaan’s head on a silver platter. In a frenzied delusion, she kisses his lifeless lips, fulfilling her sensual desire – until Herod gives the order to kill Salome.
Richard Strauss had his first overwhelming success as an operatic composer with his adaptation of Oscar Wilde’s scandalous and shocking Décadence drama in 1905: it moves between a delicate psychogram and the depiction of intoxicating, unbridled wantonness. In exhilaratingly ecstatic musical visions, Strauss pours the charged emotions and deep psychological traumas of his eccentric female lead into a shimmering, occasionally also brusque score. In doing so, he captures not only Salome’s mental decline and seductive powers with the sweeping sounds of the orchestra, but also her emotional coldness and Jochanaan’s impassioned accusations in a thrilling and disturbing way.

Termine

Medien

plot

Scene 1
The prophet Jokanaan is hanging captive over the scene. The captain Narraboth is in love with Salome, the daughter of Queen Herodias and niece of King Herod. He serenades her beauty in the light of the moon. Herodias’ page tries to keep him away from Salome. Jokanaan utters prophecies that upset the soldiers; they don’t understand him.

Scene 2
Salome flees from King’s advances. She is fascinated by Jokanaan, who is now brought down to the ground. Salome wants to speak to him and demands that he be brought to her in violation of Herod’s commands. The soldiers refuse at first, but Narraboth is unable to resist Salome’s enticements and orders that Jokanaan be brought to her.

Scene 3
Oscar Wilde enters the scene and frees the prophet. Jokanaan steps forward and emphatically explains his worldview. He accuses Herod and Herodias of sin and evildoing. Salome, fascinated by the prophet, tries to approach him. Narraboth wants to keep Salome back. But Salome is overcome by a delirium of love for the body, hair, and mouth of Jokanaan, while the prophet tries to fend off her longing. The situation escalates. With Wilde present, a struggle of desire, resistance, attraction, the radical search for truth and ecstasy. Narraboth stabs himself to death. With his last ounce of strength, Jokanaan curses Salome and withdraws. Salome flees.

Scene 4
Herod and his wife Herodias burst in. Both are looking for Salome, who is sitting in silence. Herod fears his coming death. He tries to rally up his courage and makes advances to Salome to assure himself of his potency in the face of her youth. Herodias is disgusted, Salome refuses him coldly. The scene is repeatedly interrupted by Jokanaan’s prophecies, to which Herodias reacts violently.

A group of five Jews initiates a theological dispute over the concept of God and the possible appearance of the Messiah. Two Nazarenes describe the works of Jesus. Herod wants to know nothing of this and demands that Salome dance for him. Salome ultimately gives in, but in return Herod has to swear to fulfill her own demand, whatever it might be. Salome dances for Herod, accompanied by Wilde.

Herod is charmed and willing to fulfill Salome’s wish. Salome demands the head of Jokanaan. Herodias encourages her in making this wish. Caught in a fearful panic, Herod tries to convince Salome to withdraw her demand with offers of countless riches. Salome refuses to give in. Finally, Herod agrees. Jokanaan is brought away. Eagerly listening, Salome awaits his head. Jokanaan is killed.

Salome sings of her satisfied desire and her longing. Herod is horrified, while Herodias accepts the turn of events. Wilde withdraws. Salome kisses the severed head of Jokanaan. But this is also her demise: Herod now orders his soldiers to kill Salome. The soldiers murder Salome.

programme book

Salome

Drama in einem Aufzug von Richard Strauss Text von Richard Strauss nach dem Drama »Salomé« von Oscar Wilde in der Übersetzung von Hedwig Lachmann

In einem Umfeld aufgewachsen, das keinerlei Mäßigung und Hemmungen kennt, ist die exzentrische Prinzessin Salome fasziniert von der Andersartigkeit des moralisch integren und asketisch lebenden Propheten Jochanaan, den ihre Mutter Herodias und ihr übergriffiger Stiefvater Herodes gefangen halten. Als Jochanaan Salomes von Liebeslust durchtränkte Annäherungsversuche brüsk zurückweist, entwickelt sie eine regelrechte Obsession und nutzt die Lüsternheit ihres Stiefvaters, um ihren Willen durchzusetzen: Da Herodes versprochen hat, Salome für den erotischen »Tanz der sieben Schleier« jeden Wunsch zu erfüllen, verlangt sie nun als Gegenleistung Jochanaans Kopf auf einem Silbertablett. In rasendem Wahn küsst sie dessen leblose Lippen und erfüllt sich so ihr sinnliches Begehren – bis Herodes den Befehl gibt, Salome zu töten.
Zwischen feinnervigem Psychogramm und der Darstellung rauschhafter, zügelloser Wollust changierend, gelang Richard Strauss mit seiner Adaption von Oscar Wildes skandalös-schockierendem Décadence-Drama 1905 sein erster, überwältigender Erfolg als Opernkomponist. In aufreizend ekstatischen Klangvisionen gießt er die hitzig aufgeladenen Gefühlswogen und tiefen seelischen Abgründe seiner exzentrischen Titelheldin in eine irisierende, teils auch schroffe Musik, die mit drastischer Klangmacht des gewaltigen Orchesterapparats nicht nur den seelischen Verfall und die Verführungskraft Salomes, sondern auch ihre sonstige Gefühlskälte und Jochanaans pathetische Anklagen auf aufregende wie verstörende Art und Weise einzufangen weiß.

Termine

Medien

Handlung

ERSTE SZENE
Der Prophet Jochanaan hängt gefangen über der Szenerie. Der Hauptmann Narraboth ist verliebt in Salome, die Tochter der Königin Herodias und Nichte des Königs Herodes. Im Bild des Mondes besingt er ihre Schönheit. Der Page der Herodias versucht, ihn von Salome fern zu halten. Jochanaan stößt Prophezeiungen aus. Die Soldaten sind verunsichert, sie verstehen ihn nicht.

ZWEITE SZENE
Salome flieht vor den Zudringlichkeiten des Königs. Sie ist fasziniert von Jochanaan, der zu Boden gelassen wird. Salome will mit ihm sprechen und verlangt, entgegen dem Verbot des Herodes, dass er gebracht wird. Die Soldaten verweigern sich. Narraboth ist nicht in der Lage, den Versprechungen Salomes zu widerstehen und gibt Befehl, Jochanaan zu holen.

DRITTE SZENE
Oscar Wilde betritt die Szene. Er befreit den Propheten. Jochanaan kommt hervor und beschwört seine Weltsicht. Er bezichtigt Herodes und Herodias der Sünde und der Verbrechen. Salome versucht fasziniert, sich ihm zu nähern. Narraboth will Salome zurückhalten. Salome steigert sich über den Leib, das Haar und den Mund des Jochanaan in einen Liebesrausch, Jochanaan wehrt ihr Begehren ab. Die Situation eskaliert. Begleitet von Wilde entwickelt sich ein Kampf aus Begierde, Gegenwehr, Anziehung, radikaler Suche nach Wahrheit, und Ekstase. Narraboth ersticht sich. Mit letzter Kraft verflucht Jochanaan Salome und zieht sich zurück. Salome flieht.

VIERTE SZENE
Herodes und seine Frau Herodias stürmen herein. Beide suchen Salome, die sich stumm auf ihren Stuhl setzt. Herodes ist von Todesfurcht erfüllt. Er wehrt sich verzweifelt und macht sich an Salome heran, um sich in ihrer Jugend seiner Potenz zu vergewissern. Herodias ist angewidert, Salome verweigert sich kalt. Die Szene wird immer wieder unterbrochen durch Jochanaans Prophezeiungen, gegen die Herodias sich heftig zur Wehr setzt.

Eine Gruppe von fünf Juden eröffnet einen theologischen Disput über den Gottesbegriff und das mögliche Erscheinen des Messias. Zwei Nazarener schildern das Wirken Jesu. Herodes will von alldem nichts wissen und verlangt von Salome, für ihn zu tanzen. Salome willigt schließlich ein, als Gegenleistung muss Herodes unter Eid schwören, ihr einen Wunsch zu erfüllen, was immer es sei. Salome tanzt gemeinsam mit Wilde ihren Tanz für Herodes.

Herodes ist verzückt und begierig, Salomes Wunsch zu erfüllen. Salome fordert den Kopf des Jochanaan. Herodias bestärkt sie darin. Panisch vor Angst versucht Herodes, mit zahllosen Angeboten und Reichtümern Salome von ihrer Forderung abzubringen. Salome lässt sich durch nichts beirren. Schließlich willigt Herodes ein. Jochanaan wird fort gebracht. Horchend und mit Schaudern erwartet Salome seinen Kopf. Jochanaan wird getötet.

Salome besingt exemplarisch ihr scheinbar befriedigtes Verlangen und ihre Sehnsucht. Herodes ist entsetzt, während Herodias das Geschehen akzeptiert. Wilde zieht sich zurück. Salome küsst den abgeschlagenen Kopf des Jochanaan. Dies ist zugleich auch ihr Ende. Herodes befiehlt, Salome zu töten. Die Soldaten ermorden Salome.

Pressestimmen

Programmbuch