Pelléas et Mélisande

Drame lyrique in five acts (1902)

Music by

Claude Debussy

Text by

Maurice Maeterlinck

With the world premiere of »Pelléas et Mélisande« in 1902, Claude Debussy challenged his contemporaries to listen to music in a new way. His instrumentation was without precedent. He transposed the Wagnerian leitmotif technique into a subtle tone painting and described atmospheres and dispositions of the soul that elude description and that even music is often only able to gesture towards.

The opera is based on a drama of the same name by the Flemish symbolist Maurice Maeterlinck that tells the tragic, fairytale-like story of a love triangle between the stepbrothers Golaud and Pelléas and the mysterious Mélisande. The plot is sketched in vague terms, with the main emphasis on exploring the depths of the characters’ psyches. The tragedy takes the form not of open conflict but of subliminal mental processes. Debussy’s music remains equally restrained, often approaching silence. Myriad colours shimmer beneath the monochrome surface, however, and Debussy manages to perfectly translate the enigmatic, morbid atmosphere into music. This production is a revival of the groundbreaking production by Ruth Berghaus, one of the greatest directors of the 20th century, which is returning to the Staatsoper repertoire after a ten-year break.


 

Dates

Playing Time: approx. 3:30 h
In French language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture, 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German)
Referee: Benjamin Wäntig

Cast

Playing Time: approx. 3:30 h
In French language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture, 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German)
Referee: Benjamin Wäntig

Cast

Playing Time: approx. 3:30 h
In French language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture, 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German)
Referee: Benjamin Wäntig

Cast

For the last time this season
Playing Time: approx. 3:30 h
In French language with German and English surtitles
Pre-performance lecture, 45 minutes prior to each performance (in German)
Referee: Benjamin Wäntig

Cast

Medien

plot

ACT ONE
Golaud, having wandered astray while hunting, comes upon the mysterious Mélisande. He questions her, but learns only that she has fled the company of mankind. Golaud convinces her to follow him. Geneviève reads King Arkel a letter, which Golaud has written to his brother Pelléas. In the letter, Golaud tells of his marriage to Mélisande, and asks Pelléas to ask Arkel whether he is prepared to honour this stranger as his own daughter. A particular fire signal is to indicate Arkel’s willingness to accept Mélisande, who complains to Geneviève about the gloominess of the park and the castle. Pelléas and Mélisande find the ship that brought Mélisande to this place.

ACT TWO
Mélisande loses the ring she received from Golaud in the fountain. In the instant the ring falls into the fountain, Golaud’s horse rears up. Golaud notices that the ring is missing from Mélisande’s finger, and sends her into the dark night to look for the ring. Pelléas is to accompany her. In a cave, Pelléas and Mélisande discover three sleeping old troglodytes. Mélisande flees in horror.

ACT THREE
Pelléas amuses himself, playing with Mélisande’s hair. Golaud arrives, rebukes their »child’s play«, and leads Pelléas to the Cistern of Death, advising his brother to avoid Mélisande in future. Golaud increasingly doubts Mélisande’s faithfulness. After ordering his son Yniold to observe them, he learns that the two have kissed.

ACT FOUR
Mélisande promises Pelléas that she will come, when evening falls, to the fountain where she has lost the ring. It is to be their final meeting. Arkel tries to convey to Mélisande his own affection for her. After Golaud humiliates Mélisande, she and Pelléas meet in secret. Golaud, jealous, then murders his brother. Mélisande flees again.

ACT FIVE
Mélisande has now given birth to a child, and fallen very ill. Golaud demands to know from her whether her love for Pelléas was unchaste. Mélisande dies. Arkel words of eulogy over her: »Oh, she was such a dear small creature, so timid, so quiet and so tender. Yes, this poor small creature was full of mystery, as are we all …«.

programme book

Mit der Uraufführung von »Pelléas und Mélisande« 1902 forderte Claude Debussy die Hörgewohnheiten seiner Zeitgenossen heraus: Seine Instrumentationskunst ist ohne Beispiel, er überführt die Wagnersche Leitmotivtechnik in eine subtile Klangfarbendramaturgie und beschreibt Atmosphären und Seelenstimmungen, die sich der Beschreibung entziehen und selbst die Musik oft nur anzudeuten vermag.
Die stoffliche Grundlage ist das gleichnamige Drama des flämischen Symbolisten Maurice Maeterlinck, eine tragisch endende märchenhafte Dreiecksgeschichte um die Stiefbrüder Golaud und Pelléas und die von beiden geliebte geheimnisvolle Mélisande. Die Handlung bleibt im Vagen, dafür werden psychische Tiefen ausgelotet. Die Tragödie findet nicht als offener Konflikt, sondern als unterschwelliger seelischer Prozess statt. Debussys Musik bleibt ebenso verhalten und nähert sich immer wieder der Stille. Unter der monochromen Oberfläche schillern jedoch die vielfältigsten Farben, und Debussy gelingt es, die verrätselte, morbide Atmosphäre auf kongeniale Weise in Musik umzusetzen. Nach mittlerweile 10 Jahren Pause kehrt die einst Maßstäbe setzende Staatsopern-Inszenierung von Ruth Berghaus, einer der größten Regisseurinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts, zurück ins Repertoire.

Tickets & Details

ca. 3:10 h Staatsoper Unter den Linden
Vorverkaufsbeginn am 7. Oktober 2017 10 Uhr
In französischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
VORWORT
Werkeinführung 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Referent: Benjamin Wäntig

Besetzung

Tickets & Details

ca. 3:10 h Staatsoper Unter den Linden
Vorverkaufsbeginn am 7. Oktober 2017 10 Uhr
In französischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
VORWORT
Werkeinführung 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Referent: Benjamin Wäntig

Besetzung

Tickets & Details

ca. 3:10 h Staatsoper Unter den Linden
Vorverkaufsbeginn am 7. Oktober 2017 10 Uhr
In französischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
VORWORT
Werkeinführung 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Referent: Benjamin Wäntig

Besetzung

Tickets & Details

  • Zum letzten Mal in dieser Spielzeit
ca. 3:10 h Staatsoper Unter den Linden
Vorverkaufsbeginn am 7. Oktober 2017 10 Uhr
In französischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
VORWORT
Werkeinführung 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Referent: Benjamin Wäntig

Besetzung


1. Akt
Golaud hat sich auf der Jagd verirrt und begegnet der geheimnisvollen Mélisande. Auf seine Fragen erfährt er nur, dass sie den Menschen entflohen ist. Er bewegt sie dazu, ihm zu folgen. – Geneviève liest König Arkel einen Brief vor, den Golaud an seinen Bruder Pelléas geschrieben hat. Darin teilt er seine Vermählung mit Mélisande mit und bittet Pelléas, Arkel zu fragen, ob er bereit sei, die Fremde wie seine Tochter zu ehren. Zum Zeichen des Einverständnisses erwartet er ein bestimmtes Feuerzeichen. – Mélisande beklagt sich gegenüber Geneviève über die Dunkelheit des Parkes und des Schlosses. Pelléas und Mélisande beobachten das Schiff, das Mélisande hierher brachte.

2. Akt
Mélisande fällt der ihr von Golaud geschenkte Ring in den Brunnen. – Zur selben Zeit, als der Ring in den Brunnen fiel, bäumte sich Golauds Pferd auf. Golaud vermisst den Ring an Mélisandes Finger. Er schickt sie im Dunkel der Nacht weg, den Ring zu suchen. Pelléas soll sie begleiten. – In der Grotte entdecken Pelléas und Mélisande drei schlafende Greise. Entsetzt flieht Mélisande.

3. Akt
Pelléas spielt mit Mélisandes Haar. Der hinzukommende Golaud verweist den beiden die »Kindereien« – Golaud führt Pelléas zur Zisterne des Todes. – Seinem Bruder rät er, Mélisande künftig zu meiden. – Immer stärker werden Golauds Zweifel an der Treue Mélisandes. Durch seinen Sohn Yniold lässt er sie und Pelléas beobachten. Er erfährt durch das Kind, dass sich beide geküsst haben.

4. Akt
Mélisande verspricht Pelléas, am Abend zu jenem Brunnen zu kommen, an dem sie den Ring verlor. Es soll ihre letzte Begegnung sein. – Arkel versucht, Mélisande seine Zuneigung auszudrücken. Von Golaud aber wird sie gedemütigt. – Pelléas und Mélisande treffen sich heimlich. Der eifersüchtige Golaud tötet seinen Bruder. Mélisande entflieht.

5. Akt
Mélisande hat ein Kind geboren. Sie ist erkrankt. Golaud will von ihr erfahren, ob sie Pelléas mit verbotener Liebe geliebt habe. Mélisande stirbt. Arkel spricht die letzten Worte über sie: »Ach, sie war ein so liebes kleines Wesen, und so still und schüchtern und so zart. Ja, dieses arme kleine Wesen war voller Rätsel, so wie wir alle ...«